Float like a hot tub, Sting like a hot tub Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://chasqui.fastrunningblog.com/ Wed, 11 Dec 2019 10:46:44 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Thu, Sep 26, 2019 http://chasqui.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-26-2019.html <p>loop around laie</p> Thu, 26 Sep 2019 06:00:00 Wed, Sep 25, 2019 http://chasqui.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-25-2019.html <p>My training plan (which I have been horrible in keeping to...) said to go 11 but I wanted to see how far I could go in 1:30. Turning around at 45mins [at chings fishing supplies store]</p> <p>I left at 5:20. Ended at 6:50 with a beautiful rainy hawaiian sunset all the way back towards Laie. Turns out I went 7:14 pace and hit 12.6 miles. I swam for 10 mins and ran barefoot on the beach unil I hit 13.1 haha.&nbsp;</p> <p>Im feeling pretty good and Im happy I can at least to half a marathon near my stretch goal pace. Which is pretty fortunate considering 2 months ago I was maybe hitting 5 miles a week tops. Just gonna keep at this. Ive still got 2 1/2 months until the race.&nbsp;</p> <p>I also lifted weights at 3pm ish.</p> Wed, 25 Sep 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Sep 24, 2019 http://chasqui.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-24-2019.html <p>I worked out at the gym with Chaz daddy at 5 am</p> <p>rad 2 miles for my joggin class. I beat my old time by 20 seconds.</p> Tue, 24 Sep 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Sep 23, 2019 http://chasqui.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-23-2019.html <p>morning: I ran bike path and turned up the military farm road for 7&nbsp;</p> <p>afternoon: Ran up Laie falls trail with Evan and Nick. We made it up in 22 mins and I took it kinda slow coming down because I had just eaten 2 day old 7 bros burger and was feeeelin it. We caught some moon barrels at Hukilau. Life is good!</p> Mon, 23 Sep 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Sep 21, 2019 http://chasqui.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-21-2019.html <p>Rainbow Warriors game!</p> Sat, 21 Sep 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Sep 20, 2019 http://chasqui.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-20-2019.html <p>shook out the legs with evan around laie</p> Fri, 20 Sep 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Sep 19, 2019 http://chasqui.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-19-2019.html <p>to Turtle Bay and back at 2 am with the full moon as my guide</p> Thu, 19 Sep 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Sep 17, 2019 http://chasqui.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-17-2019.html <p>Laie Summit, lot of hiking, little running...</p> Tue, 17 Sep 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Sep 16, 2019 http://chasqui.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-16-2019.html Mon, 16 Sep 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Sep 09, 2019 http://chasqui.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-09-2019.html <p>At 6 am I had my first &quot;time trial&quot; for my early morning 1 credit jogging class. Even though its a short race and it doesnt really matter for the marathon I still think its good to log it as if it were a real race just to get in the habit.</p> <p>There are about 30 people in the class and 2 or 3 people went out full on sprinting. And after the first 400m there was still one guy just giving his all about 50 ft ahead. I had just woken up and was not interested in taking first, but I kept the distance and focused on keeping a solid pace. Had a feeling he would tire out. Went through the first lap at 4:57 and as we started the 2nd and final lap sure enough speed racer hit a wall and I, without speeding up, overtook and dropped him. I kicked up the pace and finished first woo hoo! My bpm was 160. I cooled down to temple beach for a swim.</p> <p>I had my first round of classes this semester and swam at Pounders with my brother some big waves.&nbsp;</p> <p>At 5 pm or so my buddy Nick took Evan, Chaz and I up to Laie Summit trailhead and we ran up to the forest. We made it in 23 mins (its two miles but close to 600ft&nbsp;in elevation). We burned it down hootin&#39; and hollerin&#39; I had some cramping in the ribs area. It was super fun to run with an actual group and even though nick and chaz havent been running for a long time they were able to keep up really well. It felt like the good old days running with a team. We got back down to the car right as the sun was a settin&#39; and we caught moon barrels for a solid 45 mins after the run.</p> <p>2 runs and 3 swims aint bad. Im feeling very healthy and happy what more can a man ask for!</p> <p>Song: Forever Heavy // Black Moth Super Rainbow</p> Mon, 09 Sep 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Sep 05, 2019 http://chasqui.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-05-2019.html Thu, 05 Sep 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Sep 03, 2019 http://chasqui.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-03-2019.html <p>Went on a walkabout with Evan down to Hauula. Flat road running, 7:30 pace. Sun went down and we were jumping over potholes and rickety bridges and whatnot all the way back. We cracked open some cold ones (hawaiian sun lilikoi nectar) and talked about life. Gettin ready for class to start.</p> Tue, 03 Sep 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Sep 02, 2019 http://chasqui.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-02-2019.html <p>My boy Evan moved in with me, he got home from his mission in Portugal last month. He ran with me in 2016 for BYUHawaii and here we are again.</p> <p>6 miles earlay&nbsp;in the maarning up around the watertower. We jumped in Temple Beach after the run just like old times.&nbsp;</p> <p>After work we were bored and decided to run again. We did a sunset run about 2 1/2 and stopped to do pullups and pushups at a playground behind TVA.</p> <p>Ive been eating healthy, making smoothies out of fresh and frozen fruit + oats/peanut butter and drinking V8 fire water. I feel the best I have in a couple years.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 02 Sep 2019 06:00:00 Wed, Aug 28, 2019 http://chasqui.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-28-2019.html <p>8 in the&nbsp;morning with coach schlag, felt pretty tired from the run the night before but it felt good to wake up early and run</p> Wed, 28 Aug 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Aug 27, 2019 http://chasqui.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-27-2019.html <p>Ran late at night. Listened to music on a run for the first time in years I was so distracted I ran 5 miles and so I had to run the 5 back with blistered feet. serves me right for not listening to my body i guess. First long run in sandals since college ball.</p> Tue, 27 Aug 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Aug 26, 2019 http://chasqui.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-26-2019.html <p>in my efforts to convince braden to run the marathon with me I woke him up at 7 and we made smoothies and ran from Castles to the fish and wildlife conservation place he stopped at the car and I ran home.&nbsp;</p> <p>We snorkled and got acai bowls. great day.</p> Mon, 26 Aug 2019 06:00:00